- What "Qualifying" Actually Means for F5-CA
- What F5 Does and Does Not Require
- The Five Exams You Must Pass
- Enrollment Steps: From Registration to First Sitting
- Legacy 101/201 Eligibility During the Transition
- Practical Experience: The Unwritten Requirement
- Exam Conditions and Candidate Agreement Rules
- Retake Waits, Validity and Renewal
- Choosing an Exam Order
- Frequently Asked Questions
- F5-CA requires passing five separate exams, F5CAB1 through F5CAB5, in any order; there is no combined sitting.
- F5 specifies no degree, fixed experience years, or mandatory training hours, but expects real BIG-IP competence.
- Each exam is 30 multiple-choice questions in 30 minutes, with a scaled passing score of 245.
- Fees are US$50 per exam online or US$65 at Pearson VUE centers, so US$250 or US$325 for one pass at each.
What "Qualifying" Actually Means for F5-CA
Most certification requirement pages describe gates: a degree, a number of years in the field, a prior credential. The F5 Certified BIG-IP Administrator (F5-CA) works differently. The formal barrier to entry is low. The real barrier is passing five separately assessed exams on the BIG-IP platform. This article separates what F5 formally requires from what you practically need, so you can plan your preparation honestly.
One note on naming: F5's current issuer style is "F5 Certified Administrator, BIG-IP" (F5-CA, BIG-IP). If you want the basics of the name first, see What Is F5-CA Certification?. The credential belongs to F5 and covers administration of BIG-IP application delivery and load balancing platforms. The blueprint identifier is F5-CAB.0425.
What F5 Does and Does Not Require
The production blueprint is explicit about what it does not specify. Here is the plain breakdown.
| Requirement type | Status for F5-CA |
|---|---|
| Formal degree | Not specified |
| Fixed years or hours of experience | Not specified |
| Mandatory training hours | Not specified |
| References or sponsor | Not specified |
| Prior F5 credential | Not required for new candidates |
| Program registration and candidate agreement | Required |
| Passing all five exams (F5CAB1-F5CAB5) | Required |
| Practical BIG-IP competence | Expected |
Be careful with competitor pages that suggest otherwise. Some resources still describe a mandatory prerequisite chain or recommended experience in terms that came from the retired 101/201 era. For the current credential, the issuer's production blueprint is the authority.
The Five Exams You Must Pass
The five domains of F5-CA are not weighted sections of one test. They are five named, separately scheduled and separately scored exams. F5 does not publish percentage weights, and equal question counts do not mean equal weights, so treat every exam as a hard requirement. For a full walkthrough of the content, see F5-CA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
F5CAB1: BIG-IP Administration Install, Initial Configuration, and Upgrade
Getting a BIG-IP system running and keeping it current.
- Initial setup and licensing concepts
- Baseline configuration of the system
- Upgrade planning and procedures
F5CAB2: BIG-IP Administration Data Plane Concepts
The conceptual foundation for how BIG-IP handles application traffic.
- How traffic flows through the platform
- Core objects such as virtual servers, pools, and profiles at a conceptual level
- How load balancing decisions and persistence behave
F5CAB3: BIG-IP Administration Data Plane Configuration
Turning concepts into working configuration.
- Building virtual servers and pools
- Applying monitors, persistence, and profiles
- Configuring TLS-related profiles
F5CAB4: BIG-IP Administration Control Plane Administration
Managing the system itself rather than the application traffic.
- Administrative access and user management
- Configuration management and backups
- System-level settings and maintenance
F5CAB5: BIG-IP Administration Support and Troubleshooting
Finding and fixing problems on a live system.
- Reading statistics and logs
- Isolating faults in the traffic path
- Applying systematic diagnostic approaches
The blueprint's examples are illustrative rather than exhaustive, and it does not target version-specific BIG-IP features. That means you should study the underlying platform concepts, not memorize the menus of one release.
Format per exam
Every current exam has 30 multiple-choice questions and a 30-minute limit. F5 staff have confirmed that some questions require selecting two answers, so you cannot assume single-answer items. The passing score is 245 on F5's 100-350 scaled range. That is a scaled score, not a published 70%-correct threshold, so do not convert it to a percentage. For more, read F5-CA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
A caveat on question counts: F5's older overview page still says 25-30 questions, while the individual exam pages updated in December 2025 state 30 each. The newer exam-specific figure is the one to plan around.
Enrollment Steps: From Registration to First Sitting
- Register in F5's certification program. This creates your candidate record, which tracks all five passes toward the credential.
- Accept the candidate agreement. This covers exam conduct, closed-book rules, and policies on retakes.
- Choose a delivery method per exam. Online proctoring through Certiverse costs US$50 per exam. Pearson VUE test centers cost US$65 per exam.
- Schedule the first exam. You may take the five exams in any order, so pick the one that matches your current strength or your current project.
- Repeat until all five are passed. The credential is awarded on the final required pass.
You can mix delivery methods across exams. A single attempt at all five totals US$250 online or US$325 at test centers, before retakes and preparation. For a fuller money picture, see F5-CA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. F5 publishes no member versus nonmember price split.
Legacy 101/201 Eligibility During the Transition
The F5-CA route changed in 2025. Older F5 certification required Exam 101 followed by Exam 201. The issuer's notice set the formal route change for May 1, 2025, and Exam 101 retired on April 30, 2025.
If you are starting from zero, the 101/201 route is not for you. Your path is the five-exam structure. Some third-party pages blur this line, with one passage preserving legacy eligibility while its FAQ calls 201 retired. Check the issuer's transition notice and your own candidate record if you think you may be inside a legacy window.
Also treat legacy study materials with care. Resources built for 101/201 do not map objective-by-objective to the five new exams. They can still help with fundamentals, but do not assume they cover the current blueprint.
Practical Experience: The Unwritten Requirement
F5 sets no minimum experience, yet the blueprint expects practical BIG-IP competence. In practice, that means you have configured and troubleshot the platform, not just read about it. F5 also states that it does not create or maintain official certification study guides, directing candidates to the blueprint, preparation resources, and hands-on practice. A course alone is not described as sufficient preparation.
That makes lab time the closest thing to a real prerequisite. Before you sit the data plane exams especially, you should be comfortable doing these things without notes:
- Building a virtual server that fronts a pool of two or more members.
- Attaching health monitors and observing member status change when a service fails.
- Setting up persistence and seeing how it alters distribution.
- Applying client-side and server-side TLS profiles and reasoning about what each does.
- Reading traffic statistics to confirm where connections are going.
- Tracing a failed request through the traffic path to find the broken object.
If you are weighing how much preparation you need, How Hard Is the F5-CA Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers the difficulty profile in detail. For people who want a structured plan, F5-CA Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt lays one out.
Who typically fits this credential
The credential suits network engineers, systems administrators, and application delivery or security staff who manage BIG-IP in their daily work. If you are exploring where it fits in the job market, see F5-CA Jobs. If you are weighing the payoff, Is the F5-CA Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 covers it. Note that F5 publishes no credential-specific salary survey, so be skeptical of any page quoting a precise pay premium for this certification.
Exam Conditions and Candidate Agreement Rules
Meeting the requirements also means complying with the testing rules in the candidate agreement.
- Language: The exams are delivered in English.
- Closed book: Books, notes, and personal electronic devices are prohibited.
- Test-center notes: During a test-center sitting, you may write notes only on the writing materials supplied for that purpose.
- Online proctoring: Remote delivery through Certiverse follows the same closed-book standard.
F5's materials do not verify whether delivery is adaptive or whether a calculator is provided, so do not plan around either. Review the current candidate agreement before each exam, since policies are updated periodically.
Retake Waits, Validity and Renewal
Retake waits
Current catalog pages list waits of 15, 30, and 45 days after the first three failed attempts on an exam. For later failures, the issuer's own documents disagree. The catalog describes a one-year wait after the fourth failure and 90 days after the fifth and subsequent failures. The July 2025 candidate agreement describes up to 90 days or release of a new exam version, whichever is shorter, after the fourth failure, and says prerequisite exams must be retaken and passed. Because that conflict is unresolved, confirm the current rule with F5 directly if you ever reach a fourth attempt. For first-pass planning, the key point is that the early waits are short and predictable.
Validity and renewal
The credential is valid for two years from the final required passing exam. Renewal currently works through two routes:
- The F5CABR recertification exam: a separate exam with 50 questions in 60 minutes and a passing score of 245. It costs US$100 online or US$130 at a test center, and it is open to previous holders, including inactive or expired holders regardless of when the credential expired.
- A higher certification: achieving or renewing a higher F5 credential that lists F5-CA as a prerequisite. Passing an intermediate exam alone does not establish renewal.
No continuing-education credit route is published. An older transition page mentioned renewing through all five CAB exams, but the latest renewal page lists the F5CABR and higher-credential routes instead.
Choosing an Exam Order
F5 permits any order. That is the official rule. What follows is an editorial recommendation, not an issuer requirement, built around how the domains depend on each other.
F5CAB2: Data Plane Concepts
- Builds the mental model that everything else relies on
- Clarifies virtual servers, pools, profiles, and traffic flow
F5CAB3: Data Plane Configuration
- Convert concepts into hands-on labs while they are fresh
- Practice persistence, monitors, and TLS profile exercises
F5CAB1 and F5CAB4: Install and Control Plane
- Cover setup, upgrade, administration, and configuration management
- Best studied together because they both concern the system itself
F5CAB5: Support and Troubleshooting
- Draws on everything above, so it rewards being taken last
- Practice diagnosing faults using statistics and logs
If your day job is mostly troubleshooting, or you are mid-upgrade, reverse the order to capitalize on current experience. Your first exam should be the one where your confidence is highest, since an early pass builds momentum and reveals how the question style feels. For a quick fact refresher between exams, F5-CA Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is useful, and the F5-CA practice tests let you test each domain separately.
Key Takeaway
Since each exam is only 30 questions in 30 minutes, you have roughly one minute per question including two-answer items. Practice reading scenarios quickly and committing to answers; the practice test site is designed for exactly this pacing.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. F5's production blueprint specifies no formal degree, fixed years or hours of experience, mandatory training hours, or references. It does expect practical BIG-IP competence, so hands-on lab time is the realistic prerequisite.
No. All five exams must be passed, but they may be taken in any order. Any recommended order, such as concepts before configuration, is editorial guidance rather than an F5 rule.
Only if you hold a qualifying 101 pass, which keeps a 24-month eligibility window to complete 201. New candidates start with the five-exam route. Exam 101 retired on April 30, 2025.
One attempt at each of the five exams costs US$250 online through Certiverse or US$325 at Pearson VUE test centers, excluding retakes and preparation. Details are in the F5-CA certification cost breakdown.
It is valid for two years from your final required passing exam. You can renew by passing the F5CABR recertification exam or by achieving or renewing a higher F5 certification that lists F5-CA as a prerequisite.